Český národní komitét Mezinárodní akademie srovnávacího práva (IACL, AIDC)
(International Academy of Comparative Law, Académie Internationale de Droit Comparé)


The International Academy of Comparative Law was founded at The Hague on 13 September 1924.

The date itself is significant because it coincides with the prodigious movement towards a renaissance of law which followed World War I.
That the Academy was founded in The Hague is also notable because it had earlier been designated as the seat of the Permanent Court of International Justice and, in addition, was the place at which the Academy of International Law was founded.
Elemer Balogh was the architect of this union. For nearly forty years, and in spite of the catastrophes provoked by the war of 1939-1945, Elemer Balogh served as the Secretary General of the Academy, thereby devoting his very life to the success of the institution of which he had been instrumental in establishing.
The names of Roscoe Pound, Louis Milliot, Baron Frédericq, C.J. Hamson, Imre Szabo,
John Hazard, Paul Crépeau, who have served as presidents of the organization, are indicative of the prestige that the Academy has always enjoyed.
The International Academy of Comparative Law is a corps of scholars the principal aim of which is, according to article 2 of its By-laws, “the comparative study of legal systems”.
The Academy is composed of eighty Titular Members, elected by a two-thirds vote of the Titular Members preceding them. The candidates are proposed by one of six groups within the Academy.
Additionaly, the Academy comprises the associate members. This class is not limited in number.
They are elected by the Titular Members and in the same manner.
The Academy’s primary activity is to convene at intervals of four years  an International Congress of Comparative Law.  

The first International Congress of Comparative Law was held at The Hague in 1932.  The second congress was also held at The Hague, this time in 1937. The war brought with it a suspension of activities and meetings were only resumed in 1950.

More www.iuscomparatum.org


Members IACL:

JUDr. Vladimír Balaš, CSc., JUDr. Jan Bárta, CSc., doc. JUDr. Josef Blahož, DrSc., JUDr. František Cvrček, CSc., prof. nzw. JUDr. Karel Klíma, CSc. (FPr ZČU v Plzni), prof. JUDr. Pavel Holländer, CSc. (Ústavní soud ČR), JUDr. František Novák, CSc., prof. JUDr. Monika Pauknerová, CSc. - chief, prof. JUDr. Jiří Přibáň, CSc. (Cardiff Law School), prof. JUDr. Alena Winterová, CSc. (PF UK v Praze), JUDr. Jaroslav Zachariáš, CSc.